A Puzzling Print

“There is a multi-legged creature crawling on your shoulder.”- Spock

For the past year, my adviser and I have been working on mapping the Jurassic aged dinosaur tracks in the Connecticut River Valley. We came across one pair of tracks that does not appear to fit with what we typically see. I was hoping maybe I could get some opinions from others!

They may just be anomalous holes in the bedrock, the site is filled with them, but this pair seems to show similar shape and are oriented somewhat inwards towards each other.  Another option I have considered is that these may just be degraded forms of the typical dinosaur tracks but I don’t buy that. Maybe some sort of crocodilian track? The paleoenvironment does appear to indicate either a lake or swamp environment.

I’d welcome any comments with regards to these possible tracks. Thanks in advance!

About Geology Melange

I am a senior at the State University of New York at Oneonta double majoring in Geology and Anthropology. My main interests are in paleontology with a focus on dinosaurs, trilobites and human evolution. Like many geologists, I find that I am fascinated with a wide variety of topics within geology and related fields and thus my posts will likely involve a wide variety of geology tropics. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Puzzling Print

  1. waternrocks says:

    Chemical/lithologics of the sediment might be key, here – maybe just selective weathering. It would be hard to convince someone this are truly tracks.
    To test possible identification, maybe look into the crocodilian morphometrics of the age. Print size, spacing -> certain croc, certain age?
    Just some suggestions, but I play with lake sediment.

Leave a Reply

